Mahler 5
Mahler 5
Mahler 5
Mahler 5
Mahler 5
Mahler 5
Mahler 5
Mahler 5
Mahler 5
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Mahler 5
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Mahler 5
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Mahler 5
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Mahler 5
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Mahler 5
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Mahler 5
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Mahler 5
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Mahler 5
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Mahler 5

Mahler 5

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Coming soon
Unit price

Exclusive pre-stream CDs are ready to ship *this week* and can be ordered here >>>>>>> MAHLER 5 - ORDER PAGE FOR PHYSICAL COPIES

FOOSA Philharmonic
Thomas Loewenheim, conductor

Gustav Mahler: Symphony No. 5

I. Trauermarsch (Funeral March)
II. Stürmisch bewegt, mit größter Vehemenz
III. Scherzo
IV. Adagietto
V. Rondo-Finale


FOOSA began in the summer of 2013 as the Fresno Opera & Orchestra Summer Academy (hence the acronym, FOOSA). Founded by Artistic Director Thomas Loewenheim and Executive Director Julia Copeland, FOOSA is a partnership between Fresno State and the Youth Orchestras of Fresno. Our two-week summer intensive attracts serious young players who want to commit themselves to a rigorous program of orchestra rehearsals, lessons, master classes, individual practice, and plentiful performance opportunities. The FOOSA Philharmonic is a preprofessional orchestra that allows advanced musicians of college and high school age to enjoy a side-by-side performance experience with our outstanding faculty members.

Dr. Thomas Loewenheim is Head of Strings, Professor of Cello, and Conductor of the University Orchestra at California State University Fresno. He is also Music Director of the Youth Orchestras of Fresno and Artistic Director of the Fresno Opera & Orchestra Summer Academy (FOOSA). Previously he taught at the Indiana University String Academy and the Memorial University of Newfoundland (MUN), and served as music director and conductor of the Musical Arts Youth Orchestra (MAYO) in south-central Indiana. Dr. Thomas Loewenheim is a modern renaissance man: a unique musician who enjoys an international career, combining cello performance, conducting, and teaching at the highest levels. He has toured North America, Europe, the Middle East, and the Far East, performing with orchestras, giving recitals, and playing chamber music, and has been broadcast over the national radio networks in Austria, Canada, and Israel. As a conductor, Dr. Loewenheim has earned a reputation for getting the most out of any orchestra, whether coming in for a single performance or festival week, as at the Hong Kong International School Choral and Orchestra Festival, or building an orchestra over a period of years, as at MUN or for MAYO. He founded the iMAYO festival in Bloomington, Indiana, and was a co-founder of the international Tuckamore chamber music festival in St. John’s, Newfoundland.

Violin I

Limor Toren-Immerman, concertmaster
Katherine McLin
Lianna Elmore
Rachel Alers
Alexander Han
Yuliya Hess
Nathalie Hernandez
Dasom Jeon
Chanin Jung
Clara Mazo
Boinael Oms
Isaiah F O'Mack
Benjamin Pegram

Violin II
Francisco Cabán
Sharan Leventhal
Erin Adams
Rahi Abram
Rima Abram
Christin Clark
Christopher Clark
Gaonou Her
Trinity Her
Darien Marquez
Gianni Rivas
Hana Snead
Mikaela Silva

Misha Galaganov
Adriana Linares
Matthew Smoke
Idil Asci
Michelle Guzman
Taichiroh Kanauchi
Melissa McGlumphy
Rosa Ortega
Nolan Prochnau
Christian Segura
Linda Tejeda
Andrew Vasquez
Jason Yang

Jonathan Ruck
Sonja Kraus
Kelvin Diaz-Inoa
Shayne Baldwin
Octavia Burns
Emma Hill
Estevan Islas
Dalton Morris
Aranza Partida
David Pira
Jose Quinones
Karla Romani
Renard Wu

Bruce Bransby
Daniel Chan
Adam Elmore
Kyle Humphreys
Cade Peckham
Daniel Rogers
Antonio Sarzi

Flute & Piccolo
Mihoko Watanabe
Luke Blancas
Paola Cubillos
Heidi Harris
Daniel Lopez
Alyssa Santivanez

Rong-Huey Liu
Lela Buck
Issac Chyun
Stephanie Marquez
English Horn
Issac Chyun

Guy Yehuda
Erin Dowler
David Gonzalez
John Khaydarov
Taewoo Kim
Yuqing Huang

Bass Clarinet
Yuqing Huang

Catherine Marchese
Katie Mills
Christopher Sosa
Joshua Van Heusen

Christopher Sosa

Lanette Lopez-Compton
Matthew Meadows
Lucas Hamilton
Gustavo Negron
Isabella Redd
Sophia Brown
Carson Kimber

Josef Burgstaller
Harmon Byerly
Taylor Hubbard
Colby Kuyper
Robert Linares
Erik Nickell II
Americo Zapata

Luis Fred
Jeremy Fielder
Jacob Henderson
Julio Moreno
Jack Whitehouse

Bass Trombone
Jonah Weller

Gabriel Baez

Matt Darling
Thomas Cook
Peyton Esraelian
Tyler Golding
Estevan Olmos
Landon Peckham

Laura Porter
Brian Molina
Natalie Samuelson

faculty in italics


Recorded Friday, June 24, 2022
William Saroyan Theater, Fresno, CA

Producer / Recording Engineer: Christian Amonson
Assistant Engineer: David v.R. Bowles
Editor: Lara Mitofsky Neuss
Mastering: Christian Amonson
Artwork: Oskar Kokoschka
The Croci - Dolomite Landscape, 1913